AEF Spelling Bee

Champions & Finalists


2019 AEF Arizona Spelling Bee Champion

Omkar Bharath

6th Grade Student from Desert Canyon Middle School in Scottsdale

2019 AEF Arizona Spelling Bee Finalists


2019 AZ Spelling Bee Finalists w/Superintendent of Public Instruction, Kathy Hoffman (not pictured: Trevlyn Brimhall)

Apache County: Jackson Greer – 7th Grade, St. Johns Middle School (Saint Johns)

Cochise County: Diana Berry – 8th Grade, Ray Borane Middle School (Douglas)

Coconino County: Hannah Dodt – 7th Grade, Flagstaff Home Educators (Flagstaff)

Gila County: Spencer Jackson – 8th Grade, Young Public School (Young)

Graham County: Mariah Jensen – 8th Grade, Thatcher Middle School (Thatcher)

Greenlee County: Kryzzia Marie Cortez – 8th Grade, Fairbanks Middle School (Morenci)

LaPaz County: Juan Ruelas – 8th Grade, Wenden Elementary School (Wenden)

Maricopa County 1: Katherine Rayter – 8th Grade, Altadena Middle School (Phoenix)

Maricopa County 1: Joshua Whipple – 7th Grade, Connolly Middle School (Tempe)

Maricopa County 2: Omkar Bharath – 6th Grade, Desert Canyon Middle School (Scottsdale)

Maricopa County 2: Emily Tran – 6th Grade, Desert Trails Elementary School (Phoenix)

Maricopa County 3: Marcus Giorza – 8th Grade, Madison #1 (Phoenix)

Maricopa County 3: Pragya Prasad – 4th Grade, Madison Traditional Academy (Phoenix)

Maricopa County 4: Kenneth Armstrong – 7th Grade, Desert Palms Elementary School (Glendale)

Maricopa County 4: Annabelle Tran – 8th Grade, Frontier Elementary School (Peoria)

Maricopa County 5: Chema Estreller – 5th Grade, St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic School (Goodyear)

Maricopa County 5: Srihaas Ghanta – 5th Grade, Archway Trivium East (Goodyear)

Maricopa County 6: Zakk Bolton – 6th Grade, Chandler Traditional Academy Humphry Campus (Chandler)

Maricopa County 6: Sifarth Rahaman – 4th Grade, Harris Elementary School (Gilbert)

Mohave County: Johnathan Timpson – 8th Grade, Masada Charter School (Centennial Park)

Navajo County: Parker Stubblefield – 8th Grade, Winslow Junior High School (Winslow)

Pima County: Trevlyn R Brimhall – 6th Grade, Rincon Vista Middle School (Tucson)

Pima County: Sai Konkimalla – 8th Grade, BASIS Oro Valley (Oro Valley)

Pinal County: Colby Christopherson – 8th Grade, Eduprize Queen Creek (Queen Creek) 

Santa Cruz County: Daniel Woodburn – 5th Grade, Francisco Vasquez de Coronado Elementary School (Nogales)

Yavapai County: Aliyah Alpert – 3rd Grade, Alpert Homeschool (Prescott)

Yuma County: Gabriella Von Fumetti – 7th Grade, Ron Watson Middle School (Yuma)


Past AEF Arizona Spelling Bee Champions

2018 - Marcus Giorza, 7th Grade, Madison #1 (Phoenix)

2017 - Penda Ba, Sossaman Middle School (Queen Creek)

2016 - Nicola Ferguson, Sunrise Middle School (Scottsdale)

2015 - Marchus Behling, Arizona College Prep Erie (Chandler)

2014 - Nila Dhinaker, Cooley Middle School (Gilbert)

2013 - Christopher O’Connor, St. Cyril of Alexandria Catholic School (Tucson)

2012 - Sumaita Mulk, Herberger Young Scholars Academy (Glendale)

2011 - Mitchell Behling, Hamilton Prep Academy (Chandler)

2010 - Anjali Nair, McKemy Middle School (Tempe)

2009 - So-Young Chung, Terramar Elementary School (Peoria)

2008 - So-Young Chung, Terramar Elementary School (Peoria)

2007 - Jonathan Horton, East Valley Home School Educators (Gilbert)

2006 - Jonathan Horton, East Valley Home School Educators (Gilbert)

2005 - Jonathan Horton, East Valley Home School Educators (Gilbert)

2004 - Maddy Kloss, Ingleside Middle School (Phoenix)

2003 - Gavin King, Bogle Junior High School (Chandler)

2002 - Varun Rajan, Anderson Junior High School (Chandler)

2001 - Tristan Day, Snowflake Junior High School (Snowflake)

connect with us!
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Copyright © 2019 · arizona educational foundation· all rights reserved. Proudly created with