Carolyn Warner Legacy Award

Honoring Champions of Education

The Carolyn Warner Legacy Award is endowed by the family of Carolyn Warner in honor of their mother’s legacy and service to the state of Arizona as a champion of public education and advocate for teachers. Just as Carolyn embodied the attributes of a servant leader, this $1,000 annual award given in her name celebrates a former AEF Arizona Teacher of the Year, Finalist, or Semi-Finalist who has continued to make a difference long after their year of service as an

AEF Teacher of the Year honoree or candidate was over. The recipient is someone who has remained active in elevating the teaching profession and continued to make an impact as a champion of public education.

Presentation of the award began in 2000 and

is an annual beloved component of the Arizona Teacher of the Year Awards ceremony.



Dr. Pam Roggeman, Dean, College of Education, University of Phoenix

Award Year: 2020

Through her leadership as Dean of the College of Education at the University of Phoenix, Pam has

led the work of preparing thousands of teacher candidates in numerous states satisfy credentialing requirements. This experience has included national partnerships helping to advance thought-leadership in the field of education.  She has spent over a decade in higher education teacher preparation in both the public and private sector. She spearheaded a partnership with CCSSO's National Teacher of the Year program which led to the creation of the Black Male Educator Fellowship.  Pam also serves on the Arizona Educational Foundation’s Board of Directors. Before Pam's second career in teacher preparation, she was an award-winning high school English teacher for 18 years in Arizona.  She was also a 1999 Arizona Educational Foundation’s Ambassador of Excellence as a Top Five Finalist for Teacher of the Year.  She is a lifetime supporter of and believer in Arizona public education and serves as a content designer and Fellow for AEF's Our World program.

Beth 2020 headshot.jpg


Dr. Beth Maloney, 2014 Arizona Teacher of the Year

Award Year: 2021

Dr. Beth Maloney is a National Board Certified teacher, the 2014 Arizona Teacher of the Year, and spent the past twenty years teaching in the classroom. Beth is a passionate advocate for students, teachers, and quality education.She holds a doctorate in Higher and Post-secondary Education and was awarded an honorary doctorate in humane letters from Northern Arizona University. Beth is thrilled to bring her passion for arts education to a statewide nonprofit organization dedicated to providing meaningful arts experiences to the students of Arizona as the Arts Education Director. Beth serves as a content designer and Fellow for AEF's Our World program.


Karen Butterfield, Ed.D, 1993 Arizona Teacher of the Year

Award Year: 2022
Karen Butterfield is a recognized former teacher, administrator and public charter school founder.
She is currently a State Level Technical Assistance Specialist with the Region 13 Comprehensive
Center (RG 13 CC) at WestEd, providing support to the Bureau of Indian Education and to the state departments of education in Oklahoma and New Mexico. Her prior educational policy background includes providing technical assistance and guidance to states on educator effectiveness priorities on the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO’s) Education Workforce team. Karen also served as associate superintendent overseeing Academic Achievement and the Highly Effective Teachers & Leaders Divisions for 10 years at the Arizona Department of Education between 2003-2013.
Karen earned her bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees (educational leadership) from Northern Arizona University (NAU), graduating with distinction, including having been the recipient of an honorary doctorate. She has been recognized numerous times for her work in education, including having been named the 1993 Arizona Teacher of the Year, the National Art Education Association’s Outstanding Teacher in the Southwest Region twice, A Disney America Teacher Honoree, NAU’s Outstanding Doctoral Student, the Governor’s Arts in Education Award (Flagstaff Arts & Leadership Academy: The Honorable Governor Jane Dee Hull), the Flinn Foundation’s Most Influential Educator (twice by two former students), including many other awards/recognitions.